Five Proverbs In Runyankole And What They Mean

Today we get to dive into our African culture, our roots. Our ancestors, grand parents and parents used/use proverbs to convey wisdom, truth, a discovery of ideas, as well as life lessons.

I am afraid we are an instant generation grown by the internet and unless we jealously guard this part of our heritage, our children and their children shall have nothing left to take pride in.

So I write to share and to remember but most importantly for my offspring to refer to. I will share five of these proverbs in Runyakore today, it is my father tongue but they refer to it as a mother tongue, not sure why but here we go;

1. Enkoko n’eshond’ ekeramire (A hen only pecks/eats what it can swallow)

This simply translates into do not bite what you cannot swallow or more than you can swallow. To me this means many things but the closest one is avoid being greedy and or avoid starting up trouble you may not sustain.

2. Tokaremwa Kubyama Ngu Otaroota (You cannot fail to go to bed for fear of dreaming)

I love to translate this in regards to fear. Some things just have to be done regardless of how you feel as a responsibility or the right thing to do. For example if you mess up, the best thing to is clean up after yourself no matter how embarrasing/uncomfortable and ugly it looks.

3. Otakeshweka bwasheshire (You don’t need to cover yourself at dawn)

Let us not look at it in the lock down days because any time was kweshweka time, night and day were the same for some people. This proverb reminds me to plan ahead and avoid procrastinating. You have a whole night to cover yourself but you wait for the rooster instead.

Failing to plan is planning to fail- be wise.

4. Akaati keinukwa kakiri kato (I do not know how to translate this for you)

I can however interpret it. You know that proverb in the Bible that says spare the road spoil the child or train a child in the way they should go and when they grow up they will not depart from it?

That is practically it although this is said in terms of a plant being straightened at an early stage lest it grows up bent.

5. Entasiima ebura owagiha (He who does not appreciate receives from no one)

I think this is self explanatory. Gratitude is a great virtue and it is encouraging to the giver once s/he feels appreciated, they get the morale to keep doing so.

Having stated that, I would like to remind you that it is more blessed to give that to receive- just saying 😉


Welcome to another week of the winter blogging challenge for African bloggers. It is day 11/22. Let me know how you interpret these in your language or if we share roots, how you can expound on these. Thank you!

I am the Sparrow.

24 thoughts on “Five Proverbs In Runyankole And What They Mean

  1. I like the one about planning. Not covering yourself because it’s already morning.

    Also the last one has a version in Luganda with same exact meaning.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I read the last one in some blogs too yet to go through them all. The one about covering yourself in the morning is one of my favs too. It is a great reminder to always plan

      Like

  2. Tokaremwa Kubyama Ngu Otaroota (You cannot fail to go to bed for fear of dreaming)

    This spoke to me…. Fear dang!! Has a way of gripping you. But we sleep regardless right?
    I’ll definately not be afraid to do the things my heart calls out for.
    Thank you Joy the sparrow. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment